Uncategorized

Wait, Why Would You?

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one’s lifetime.”
Mark Twain

Wait, why would you?
That’s right, you don’t know why I would. You don’t know my motivations, fears, desires. What is obvious to you may not be to me. Clear choices are not always that clear.

An example.
You walk outside of a market and see a man hitting a woman. An angry man and a fearful woman, they are probably husband and wife. What do you do? Intervene? Call the cops? Yell at him to stop? He is hitting her, for heaven’s sake!

But, in 90% of the world, it is important for a man to “correct” his wife. You might justify your outrage with phrases like “common decency” but in that man’s world it would be indecent to not correct her. If he doesn’t then she’ll continue wrong behavior and civilization will fall apart.

What this means is: you are wrong. Your world view is so narrow it only lines up with 10% of the planet. Even as you read this, you don’t feel wrong, do you? You know you are right — but you are not, you are wrong. Pisses you off, doesn’t it? You might say “I am more progressive than those heathens” or “I am more advanced”. Trust me, you’ll say all those things and more … especially when you are wrong.

What is happening.
We are all going through growing pains. Sixty years ago, everyone worked at the factory; you knew what your neighbor did and had the same common ground, ethics, morals and world view. Everyone in your world had the same culture, church and standards.

Today, via the internet, television, movies, books and travel, we are exposed to a very wide range of viewpoints. What is an obvious course of action to you may not be the same to me and that might be exasperating to you. Even more, all the far reaching cities are seeing a broader view point too and it doesn’t jive with their own stand. Mark Twain would love it.

The world does not see the same reality that you do. You are unique. I may be fucked up, crazy and an asshole and I’m looking at you like you suck at life. It’s mind-boggling. You and I are being played too; our world view of what is right and wrong is letting others reach right into our wallets as we are suckered for our sentiment, fears, values, beliefs and so much more. We are naive suckers, marks.
Wait, why would you?
All of the above is leading up to something that is pretty weak, really.

I have not finished Kun-Lai Summit.

There are only a handful of quests left in Kun-Lai and I could go skate through them on my geared level 100 character. But I don’t. To you, it’s obvious that I should. Why would I not? It’s undone! Finish it!

I’m afraid, that’s why. I’m afraid I’ll run out of World of Warcraft and have nothing to do. I’ll be reduced to 500,000 kills in PvP; the horror! Everywhere throughout my game I have left some little bits undone. Close on so very many but I don’t always want to run the list.

What is obvious to you may not be so obvious to me. My reasons almost never line up with yours. If I’m unlucky, some fuck will hang a label on it (OCD) so it can be dismissed with no exploration of what is underneath it all. You may think you are open-minded, but your version of reality is extremely narrow.

Play nice.

Leave a Reply

