Uncategorized

Pet Peeves in Wow: 6.2 Edition

“Information may travel at light speed, but meaning spreads at the speed of dark.”
― Richard Powers

Pet Peeves in WoW

In general, I don’t have many peeves in WoW. I like to discover the game as designed and get to know the various experiences as imagined by the developers and designers.

My Pet Peeve is when they specifically step forward to make an announcement with the purpose to inform the player base of upcoming changes … and they botch it. Eff it up. They look bad (at least to me) and fail at their task.

We have Hotfixes for August 4th announced. Yay! They are doing their job by fine-tuning our content or amending their poor choices from before.

Here is an example of a pretty darn good hotfix: it informs and improves the player experience.

Kilrogg Deadeye
Health of adds for the encounter have been reduced by roughly 20% for raid groups with 10 players on Normal and Heroic difficulty. This should help with the difficulty experienced by smaller raid groups losing their DPS when sending players down into the death phase. The health of adds scales back up and should be remain roughly unchanged from before as raid group size increases.

Okay! I have been in those ten man raids. I changed my spec to Marksman, I re-gemmed and rerolled my stats because it was too hard for our raid team. They at least admit it was bad. It cost me and our team hours of fruitless game-play. I’m glad they fixed it, wish it had been done weeks ago.

Here is an example of my Pet Peeve:

Items
Reduced the chance to obtain bonus Felblight.

What does that mean? I went to the forums tonight. Players are asking, “what does that mean?” No one understands. Off Kazzak? From skinning? I farm Felblight, I don’t want it to be less!

Sure, the developers were not hired to be writers; I understand that. But this … this … is infuriating. It makes no sense. When did we ever get bonus Felblight? Who defined it as a bonus? Who used the word “bonus” ever before in any of the game literature?

The job was to inform the players of upcoming and incoming changes. They not only failed but left us confused and lost.


Leave a Reply

