Uncategorized

Supergirl – How Does She Do It?

When an actor comes to me and wants to discuss his character, I say, ‘It’s in the script.’ If he says, ‘But what’s my motivation?, ‘ I say, ‘Your salary.’
Alfred Hitchcock


Supergirl – How Does She Do It?

Episode Four


What a terrific episode! The writer’s took a full step forward in character development and added dimension to all of the players.

I am relieved that James Olson is dating. That whole love interest with Supergirl is hopefully gone.

I have my own personal pet peeves, of course. Using Louis Armstrong’s What a Wonderful World for the Thanksgiving scene is cheating. They can write their own sentiment without relying on someone else’s work; trusting that we will transfer all of our feelings for that terrific song to their television show. Tsk.

Calista Flockhart continues to thrive. She is the only seasoned actor on the show, the rest are all kids and it shows. I loved her line, “Agent Mulder?” referencing X-Files. It was hilarious!

And the Monster of the Week was not an alien! Even better, Supergirl defeated her using physics (water and electricity) and not some lame gizmo.

It is as if they read every single “how to fix” line in my blog. I know this isn’t true, I’m guessing that the flaws were obvious to a lot of people.

If they hired a Script Doctor, it really paid off.

Good show!


Leave a Reply

