WoW Marksman Keyboard

“A good shot must necessarily be a good man since the essence of good marksmanship is self-control and self-control is the essential quality of a good man.”
Theodore Roosevelt


Marksman Hunter: Keyboard

One of my frustrations while leveling a new class (warrior, hello!) is that as you level up, you get spells dumped into your action bars. But, which ones are the good ones?

I read a lot of World of Warcraft hunter blogs like Eyes of the Beast, Thrill of the Wild, Misdirections and, of course, follow Azortharion’s guide like a religion. His Ask.fm for question asking is terrific.

But, Hell Fire Citadel demanded that I change from Beast Mastery to Markmanship. I’d follow the guides but I wanted a look at the experts lay out on their keyboard.

Everyone plays so differently, there is no The Way of the Keys.


Here is my keyboard layout for raiding as Marksman. There are 30 buttons but you really only use 10 all of the time!

My “rotation”:

  1. Key 1 – Counter Shot
  2. Key 2 – Aimed Shot
  3. Key 3 – Steady Shot
  4. Key 4 – Chimaera Shot
  5. Key 5 – Kill Shot

I have Kill Shot on macro, it looks like this:
#showtooltip Kill Shot
/stopcasting
/stopcasting
/cast Kill Shot

Everything else is clicked with my mouse.

I have the Weak Auras set up but I don’t need it. My eyes still go to my keys or up to my avatar from years of playing. I could get rid of it. The only weakaura that I’ve liked is the count-down bar for multi-shot when I’m playing Beast Master.

I have Bartender. I turned off the Blizzard Art and made the bag bar to be one bag. I added a bar on top of the two bottom bars.

With the extra action bar, I have my spells clustered or clumped together. There are gaps between my clusters.

The way I play is that the cooldowns are to the bottom right. Clustered are Rapid Fire, my Mirror Trinket and the Legendary Ring — I need these cooldowns to be in sync! If I had an “on use” trinket, I’d macro it with Rapid Fire if it was a two minute trinket.

My other cooldowns Stampede, Barrage and Exhilaration are next to each other and are easily clicked on cooldown.

Disengage, Deterrence and /cancelaura are a small clump.

Binding Shot, Concussive Shot, Tranquilizing Shot, Distracting Shot are my situational spells, clumped in the middle.

Right above my situational spells is Misdirection but I almost never ever use it any more.

I have the two vertical action bars turned on. At the top of the two rows I have the Call Pet whistle and the Lone Wolf buffs since these are both fly out boxes.

On the vertical bars I have stuff I need but rarely or not in combat. Findel’s Loot-a-Rang, Mass Rezz, Engineer’s Glider cape, Shadowmeld, Drums of Fury and stuff like that.

Oh yeah, the bottom left above my “rotation” keys are my traps and Aspect of the Cheetah. Pack is not even on my bars, the bastards can walk back after a wipe.

A small two button cluster is my health pot and agility pot, over near my big cooldowns.


The Big Point is to cluster spells together like cooldowns or situational so that there is a logic to your layout. Think of how you’d use them in a raid when you are super busy.


  • Counter Shot
  • Aimed Shot
  • Steady Shot
  • Chimaera Shot
  • Kill Shot
  • Binding Shot
  • Concussive Shot
  • Tranquilizing Shot
  • Distracting Shot
  • Feign Death
  • Stampede
  • Barrage
  • Exhilaration
  • Rapid Fire
  • Mirror of the Blademaster trinket
  • Legendary Ring
  • Trap Launcher
  • Ice Trap
  • Explosive Trap
  • Freezing Trap
  • Aspect of the Cheetah
  • Healing Tonic
  • Draenic Agility Potion
  • Call Pet flyout box
  • Lone Wolf buff bar
  • Mass Rezz
  • Loot-a-rang
  • Shadowmeld
  • Drums of Fury
  • Gliding cape

That is how my keyboard is set up. Very few macros and while I have Weak Auras, I don’t really use it fully. Over time, you will build your own layout. While Flare might be handy for finding the Assassins, it is merely a luxury.

The Talents are always in the same place. When I switch to Murder of Crows, it would replace my Stampede button.


Keep it Simple. Happy Hunting. And may all your hits, be crits!



Leave a Reply

