Uncategorized

A Book Buddy

“The older I grow the more I become certain that it makes no difference what words we use to tell the same truths.”
Marion Zimmer Bradley, The Mists of Avalon


Book Buddies are Rare

Nope, this is not about the World of Warcraft.

A Book Buddy by any name you want to call it is a precious thing.

My first was a guy named Dan. I was a kid, smoking weed, and very interested in the counter-culture. He gave me The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test by Tom Wolfe. Forty years later, I still own this copy. It still has two rolling papers glued together to be used as a book-mark.

That book led me to Ken Kesey and One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest which led me to Robert Anton Wilson which led me to … well, you get the idea.

A Book Buddy is a rare friend. He will read a book and pass it along to you, thinking that you might be interested.

I remember well, my best friend slipping me Interview With A Vampire by Anne Rice. This was THE book that changed an entire genre. This was the book that started all the Twilight series, the stuff you see on HBO, the erotic/horror genre all comes from this first book.

I was working a gig that took at least twelve hours a day, we were swamped. But I still read a few chapters every night. My friend and I would talk about the book, where I was in the sequence and, really, how cool vampires were.

I have a book buddy now, a precious friend to be sure.

I am often the leader, suggesting books that we might read together and discuss as we travel along the artist’s trail each journey.

Together we have read:

  • Ender’s Game
  • The Mists of Avalon
  • 1984
  • The Dragonriders of Pern (the whole series)
  • Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen
  • Anita Blake (about eight of the series) by Laurell K Hamilton

I’ll betcha that I’m missing a couple of books! These are the best of times. It is fun and we each bring our own perspective to the experience and embrace the joy of reading.

I’d like to squeeze in The Jungle Books by Kipling soon, the trailers for the upcoming movie looks great. There will be a pre-movie book for Warcraft soon as well.

If you ever, ever, find a Book Buddy in your life — hold on to that friend. They are precious and rare.

Leave a Reply

