How Was Your Day?

“When my kids become wild and unruly, I use a nice safe playpen. When they’re finished, I climb out.”
Erma Bombeck


How Was Your Day?

Once again, education has me up in arms. Now, I read in The New Yorker about Alt-schools. These schools are developed by Silicon Valley, are K through 8 and are all about the children using tablets.

I am all for smaller classrooms. I am all for higher pay for teachers. Those two things were the criteria for better education when studied before No Child Left Behind which decided on teacher accountability and testing. Argh.

I believe in my heart of hearts that the bulk of educational responsibility lies with the parents.

Somewhere and somewhen there was a shift and parents put the entire job onto the schools; even down to manners and discipline on top of all the educational stuff.

When they talk about the steady decline of education in the US since the 1950’s, I have never seen anyone consider what happened then: a television in every home.

Maybe it was the rise in the Feminist Movement or Women’s Rights Movement when mothers began working; a two job household. I don’t know when it happened, I really don’t.

In any case, our children are getting a crappy childhood.

I can preach to turn off the television and the “online experience”. But, I know it won’t happen. The days when parents taught their kids to read and write and add before entering school are gone. When parents sat with their kids doing homework at the kitchen table; gone.

Or simply listened to their kids and asked, “How was your day.”

2 thoughts on “How Was Your Day?”

  1. This is a sociology/economics rubic’s cube. There are so many moving parts.

    All of your points are dead on. Some more than others for some families. Others have a slightly different blend of those points.

    Another part of the responsibility shift from parents to teachers is the economy. Single parents needing to work 2 jobs to pay bills, because 40 hours a week anywhere near minimum wage is not livable, makes for very little time for teaching after domestic work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

