Uncategorized

Group Ambition

Being powerful is like being a lady. If you have to tell people you are, you aren’t!
Margaret Thatcher


Our guild master is also our raid leader. We are very lucky.

While both guild master and raid leader are titles; there is not much authority behind it like a cop nor an avenue to your success like your boss.

There are libraries full of books on Leadership. I don’t know if anyone has ever been able to pin down the qualities of a leader nor can we try to inhabit those qualities if they are not inherent.

Very few of those books on Leadership consider “ambition of the group”. I don’t know why because it is the most powerful motivation.

Books on Leadership tend to be about the leader’s personal ambition and moving up the ladder to success. Misguided books, if you ask me!

Our raid leader wants us to succeed more than we do. Our collective is shaped by the desire and patience of our leader. And, our leader can admit mistakes very quickly. Most people don’t want to admit mistakes for fear of being seen as weak, I guess.

There is an openness and welcoming in our group. We are not exclusive or held to an undefinable higher standard. My old boss used to say, “I don’t know what is wrong, but I don’t like it” leaving you doubting every single detail of the entire work; even worse, striving to please him and not honoring the work itself.

In my real life, I have been a supervisor, designer, teacher and leader. Those roles were given to me, offered and conferred. I thought to myself, “my people love me!” As a gateway to my minion’s success, they kissed my ass to get favor. Sobering thoughts, to be sure.

WoW is a great place to see natural leaders. I have seen a lot of people try and their own moral or selfish or ethical shortcomings get revealed quickly. Their personal motives color every choice until eventual failure.

When you are working with a good leader, choices are simply followed and you can move on to the task with hope, ambition and success.

Leave a Reply

