Uncategorized

The Bonus Roll in Wow

They call you Lady Luck.
But there is room for doubt
At times you have a very unladylike way of running out

Luck Be A Lady (from Guys and Dolls)


The Bonus Roll in WoW

I might say that my bonus roll from WoW is around my waist: but that’s another story.

The Bonus Roll is a fun mechanic in our game. When we down a boss, we have a chance at loot. If we use a Bonus Roll (by way of a token) we have a 15% chance that some loot will drop for us. It is in line with Personal Loot and independent of all other loot chances.

It can be disappointing as we do get our hopes up. However, we have a whopping 85% chance that we’ll get gold. Keeping it in perspective as a fun chance helps a lot.

That low 15% chance is nasty in that each boss typically drops four pieces for your spec. So, you have a lowly 4% chance that the piece that you get is one that you really (really) want.

4% is painfully low. However, there is hope!


Protection from Bad Luck
Taepsilum
Community Manager

Whenever you use a bonus roll and you don’t get any loot, your chance of getting loot on the next roll will increase. This increased probability won’t be reset until some loot is awarded, and this is independent of the boss that is being killed.

The bad luck streak protection will carry over and continue to increase the probability from boss to boss and instance to instance and won’t reset until you get some loot. Basically, this feature treats all bonus rolls as if they were actually the same, no matter where they originate from.


 

I have three pieces that I’d like and I roll on those three almost every week. So far, clearly, zero luck on every level.

However, I think I’ll change my strategy and only roll on one single boss. This will let my bad luck protection ramp up until I get my coveted piece.

Also, following my new strategy, while I can only loot once (from Personal Loot or Master Looter), I can use my bonus roll on every boss kill.

So, I could join pugs outside of my raid and hone in on one coveted piece, using my extra bonus rolls.

The bad luck protection resets once you get loot, so it could be painful but not pure agony!

Leave a Reply

