A post on the World of Warcraft

The Mad Merchant

If I were a rich man,
Yubby dibby dibby dibby dibby dibby dibby dum.
All day long I’d biddy biddy bum.
If I were a wealthy man.

Fiddler on the Roof


The Mad Merchant

I love data mining! While I’m not interested at all in the quests, zones, dungeons and raids; those will be discovered a-wonder when the expansion arrives.

I do love odd bits like The Mad Merchant. This guy sells four items at crazy high prices, the top is a Spider Mount for (drum roll) Two Million Gold.

Watcher, generous as ever, had some things to say: there is a snippet.

This is just a crazy merchant. The point of the items is to be ludicrously expensive, just as the point of something like the Reins of the Time-Lost Proto-Drake is to be ludicrously rare (if you think about it, a multi-day respawn that shares a spawn point with a more common variant and has a zone-wide patrol is pretty insane…). Some of the vendor’s details may be tweaked, and there’s been very good feedback in the thread on the relative attractiveness of the different items, but the 2mil price tag for the mount is not likely to change.


There are four items; a mount, a bag, a toy and a battle pet. I might buy the toy (currently set a 250,000 gold), I’d have to see it in action first. Oddly, no mention of Achievements attached to these crazy mad items!

I have to say, I bought the Traveling Tundra Mammoth early in WotLK, the Yak on day one of MoP and the Alliance Chopper (a bitter choice, the game was rigged from the start). What was the one in Cata? The Mammoth and Yak had function with vendors and I was glad to get them. I doubt I’ll be buying the Spider Mount though, that is a lot of gold for this casual player.

The Wowhead link to the Mad Merchant is here.




Leave a Reply

