A post on the World of Warcraft

Blogs and the Beta (notes)

“This wasn’t just plain terrible, this was fancy terrible. This was terrible with raisins in it.”
Dorothy Parker


Blogs and the Beta (notes).

My goodness! I have been all over the place today.

I visited Darkmoon Times which pointed me to Bubbles of Mischief with a posting on the Warcraft Movie perks. Even if you plan on taking a break from WoW before Legion, you’d want to log in during the initial movie release. Two Tmog pieces for horde, two Tmog pieces for alliance and one achievement for each! Pretty sweet!

Blizzard Watch stepped up to the plate with some heavy duty Alpha work looking into Legion: A snapshot of World Quests. It looks to be a bit daunting at first, 35 quest choices on the map! Yikes, my quest log only holds 25. We’ll tame that beast, I’m sure. I hope that we can share World Quests and party with a friend.


The Beta patch notes are up.

Only a few surprises: one looks to be a Catch-22.

  • Equipment limits on the amount of crafted gear that can be worn have been removed.
  • The Obliterum Forge, unlocked with a questline at level 110, will allow players to destroy their crafted gear and obtain Obliterum. Obliterum, in turn, can be used to make crafted gear more powerful.

Crafting and burning gear for the upgrade mats looks brutal.

I can’t find it now but tier sets will have a chance at six gear slots (to build a four piece set). Which slots will those six be? We do see that Legion cloaks, rings, and items worn on the neck are no longer tied to a specific primary stat, and will remain relevant between specializations., so; which pieces do we craft up? Those three?


Also; this caught my eye:

  • Characters can now change between any of their specializations at most any time for a progressive gold cost. Action bar configurations are saved for each specialization. As a result, Dual Specialization has been removed.
  • Characters can queue up as any role that is available to their class and will automatically switch to the suitable specialization when entering the Dungeon, Raid, Battleground, or Arena without any gold cost. For example, a paladin might be questing as Retribution but queue up in Dungeon Finder as a Tank. When the paladin enters the dungeon, they will automatically switch to Protection.

I don’t understand. Why would you be questing as a Ret Pally? Tanks and Healers have “meaningful” dps to quest with; why be in another spec — unless it is way (way) late in the game and you are leveling a second Artifact. Maybe that example is for playing in 2017: always good to think ahead.

I mean, really: are we being designed for playing in multiple specs or not? The rising cost of switching specs compounded with the long Artifact line makes me feel that I will be locked hard into one spec.


Uncle Wrath says: Always keep in mind that this is the beginning of Legion. There are patches planned ahead for massive changes, typically easing up on restrictions and ways for us to be more powerful.




7 thoughts on “Blogs and the Beta (notes)

  1. Thanks for the mention. I’m hoping to get lucky with a beta invite so I can finally see all this new content and experience all the quality of life improvements.

    Like

  2. I’m rather happy with the 6 tier pieces idea. This allows you to carry the 2/4 piece bonus of previous tier into your next tier as you build it.

    I do hope they don’t segregate tier into LFR-Tier/Real-Tier with no cross-over bonuses. I’m in the mind set that if I’m in a raiding guild and the LFR-tier gives me no benefit, I won’t do LFR.

    Like

  3. I am very concerned about a progressive gold cost for a spec change. As a druid tank with competitive feral dps gear, I switch specs all the time. This is a sad face for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

