A post on the World of Warcraft

Blizzard is Busy

“Hopefully, if I have done my job right, people will want to know and see more! There is certainly plenty more to tell. I would love to be part of that process of expanding on the lore that makes up Warcraft, but it will all depend on what you, the audience, think of our first film!”
Duncan Jones


Blizzard is Busy

There is a big rose bush in bloom on the lawn by my front door. I’d guess that about 30 hummingbirds are flitting around; it is enchanting. I think that the model for every fairy imagined has been based on the hummingbird.

There is a white board down at Blizzard Headquarters that I’d like to see. It would have the timelines/deadlines drawn on it. Legion Beta, Overwatch Release, Book release, Warcraft media blitz, Warcraft release, new HoTs heros, Legion character copy for beta, pre-expansion … etc. As much as we WoWers may feel that we are vamping until we get a new variation on our experience; Blizzard is darned busy!

Gamers and more rushed out to see the bigscreen adaptation of Blizzard Entertainment’s wildly popular franchise, dropping a multi-player-fueled $31.6M in the process. In 73 IMAX plays, the Duncan Jones-helmed pic grossed $2.1M.

Where is my Orc lunchbox? My Gryphon Lego? The merchandise must be out there; so far, I have only seen action figures. I hope that they are selling well.

It is a bit scary to see so many (including the director, Duncan Jones) talking about a sequel. I know that everyone wants to be in a “franchise”, those next movies make a lot of money for the performers, directors and everyone who is carted along.

Gnomecore has my favorite line in a review so far. He saw it in Moscow and is a player and blogger, “Animals are awesome, even if they were few. Frostwolf clan wolves and Stormwind griffins act both as mounts and weapons of doom. You will abandon your shitty drakes in the game and return to the basic mounts after the movie, I promise.”

Now then, that is something I’d not imagined. If the movie can change the way I want to play in the game: I’m stoked and excited.

June 10th, it will be here soon.

xoxo




Leave a Reply

