A post on the World of Warcraft

Let It Bleed: A Rebuttal

“It is the still, small voice that the soul heeds, not the deafening blasts of doom.”
William Dean Howells


Let It Bleed: A Rebuttal

I’ve been called a squatter. I didn’t know I was a squatter and I’m not sure how offended I should be. Alternative Chat posted a gloating smug post called Let It Bleed.

The crux of the news is that we now know that the main crafting material, Blood of Sargeras, is bind-on-pick-up (BoP).

Alternative Chat is a self-professed LFR hero. Why this otherwise intelligent writer would invest in crafting high-end gear to do LFR runs is beyond me; no one will love you more. No need to be defensive, we all understand. It’s okay.

Okay!

Now that I’ve talked back after being called a hater and squatter and unhealthy; lets get over that and consider the news. If that is the design, good or bad, we have to make it work. (Just to be clear, I enjoy reading Alternative Chat and do so every day and I listen to the podcast too. In this case, talking smack does not mean unloved).

The crafting material, Blood of Sargeras, will probably be about as rare as Felblight but it can’t be traded. This means one will be gathering on the profession toon who wants to craft. My first question is: can this high-end crafted gear be sold or is it BoP too?

The Second Law of Thermo-dynamics says that everything that has an input must have an output or it stagnates. Or, if you have an Alt with two gathering professions; you will be constipated and uncomfortable for the expansion.

If you have an Alt with two crafting professions; you are consigned to Fishing for the rest of your life. If you are paying a fifteen dollar subscription fee, your gaming hour is worth about two copper and a farthing. Like the character in The Phantom Tollbooth that convinces our hero to move a pile of sand … using tweezers, there was a lesson in that book!

This falls under the Dirty Trick category. Once upon a time, some professions had a dps gimmick built in to the profession. Synapse Springs in Engineering, for example, was something a progression raider really wanted. They took that away, saying that a profession should not give a dps advantage. Yet, with the Blood of Sargeras being BoP, the crafting raider does very much get an advantage. Assuming massive research within the next few weeks; a crafty raider (sorry) will know which profession will benefit the most and invest in that lone profession — could it be crafting a trinket or could it be many pieces of mail gear or high-end gem crafting: I don’t know (yet).

As I’ve said before and I do believe, no matter the design with advantages or flaws; we have to make it work. If I learn that we have to make cake but are given no flour, we still have to learn to cook cake — or we get no cake at all. As a long-time cake enthusiast, I’ll even eat bad cake (all the while dreaming and remembering that café in Hong Kong that served a wonderful rich cake, air conditioning in August and smiling servers, happy to have my business).

If the design for professions in Legion is based on Grind, and it is; even if it is a throw-back to Vanilla where we spent hours (or days) grinding mats to be able to raid; even if they have discarded intelligent design evolution that allowed more players to actually spend time playing: if this is our cup, then we must drink what is served.

We’ve known all along that Legion would be punishing Alts. Watcher said in his interview that an Alt should not serve a Main. The “why” eludes me, there was no justification or rationale; only the statement.

I have no real investment in my Alts. I’ll gladly leave them in the garrison; like the CEO of an automobile plant that buys a robotic arm: I’ll fire all those workers; coldly and dispassionately. At least they won’t be homeless.

I can’t believe that my Main will go back to mining. That is fucking depressing. That is sooooo WotLK. ew. I’d guess that, at best, 10% of the player base follows the news and patch notes and hype leading into Legion. 90% of the player base is in for one helluva shock, probably about two weeks into the expansion will they figure it out. Either they’ll scramble to make it work, give up on professions, dial down their involvement in the game or … well, I don’t know.

Finally, there is crafting and there is crafting. Some professions craft gear, trinkets and off-hands. Some professions craft flasks, potions, glyphs, scrolls and food. I can’t imagine that the Blood of Sargeras is needed to make flasks, if so; I give up.

Leave a Reply

