Healing Numbers

Sky Masterson: One of these days in your travels, a guy is going to show you a brand-new deck of cards on which the seal is not yet broken. Then this guy is going to offer to bet you that he can make the jack of spades jump out of this brand-new deck of cards and squirt cider in your ear. But, son, do not accept this bet, because as sure as you stand there, you’re going to wind up with an ear full of cider.
Guys and Dolls


Healing Numbers

I am not a theory-crafter or a big numbers guy. For the most part, I have felt Recount is mostly good for looking at your own numbers or; if you are lucky, comparing your numbers to another healer of your same class.

We raided tonight and I didn’t have much time to look at my numbers. I saw that I was not as high as the other two healers but it was like: 22%, 20%, 19%. Darned close but I think gear, artifact power and the fight itself will all be factors when looking at that stuff.

Our last fight of this night was the Eye boss. So, after the raid I had a chance to look at my Recount on the final fight: a kill!

When you look at the “current fight” on Recount, you can see your top spells in descending order. Rejuv, Regrowth, Efflorescence etc.

Do you know what my bottom spell was? Tranquility.

And I’m sure I used it twice, once on the outside and once on the inside — so, there may have been some line of sight issues on the second use.

But, really. Last? Tranquility is our big raid cooldown on a three minute turn-around. Below Lifebloom and Ysera’s Gift.

Tranquility was in eighth place, limping along.

I am mystified.

The tool tip says, “Heals all allies within 40 yards for [5 * (180% of Spell power)] over 8 sec. Healing increased by 100% when not in a raid.”

Argh. How much less in a raid? That tool-tip sucks. I don’t understand.

I can’t imagine Tranquility, our iconic and visually pretty big raid cooldown as last on my healing list. Something is wrong.

I asked our Raid Leader to start posting Logs again. He did via Ask Mr Robot during WoD but AMR doesn’t support that anymore so he’ll decide which site to use.

I can’t go back and look at the other fights, they are buried or lost. Maybe I screwed up. But, I have to know what spells are strong!

Tranquility? More like Tranquilizer.

2 thoughts on “Healing Numbers”

  1. Hey! I have a few suggestions for you if that’s OK.

    First, taking your own logs and uploading to warcraftlogs is extremely easy! It might seem daunting to set up (it was for me a few years ago). But if your guild doesn’t log, you can log for yourself. Plus, I bet your guildies will appreciate it. Check out the following guide that should explain it from start to finish: (http://www.icy-veins.com/forums/topic/4392-warcraft-logs-a-comprehensive-guide/) (linked from http://raidadvice.com/general-raiding-guides/#Logs ^_^).

    Second, Ditch Recount for Details! It may take getting used to, but Details! gives you, well, more details about what happened, including ability to easily look back and see kills from past bosses and, if I recall correctly, see raw healing (healing + overhealing). (http://mods.curse.com/addons/wow/details) (linked from http://raidadvice.com/updating-my-addons-and-user-interface-for-the-legion-prepatch/ ^_^).

    Third, Tranquility should still be your top spell in raw healing, but the raid really needs to be getting punished for it to be 100% effective. It gets most value in Mythic and least value in Normal, because the mechanics in normal just don’t hit quite hard enough to maximize Tranquility’s healing potential.

    Check out these logs of a druid I trust: https://www.warcraftlogs.com/reports/MFnarDTv6tVZzQC1#fight=13&type=healing&source=4

    Click “Raw Healing” in the top right to compare healing to raw healing. His Tranquility is overhealing for 80% of its effectiveness! This is likely what is happening to you. If the damage pattern allows it, Tranquility most certainly can be our top healing spell.

    Timing Tranquility well to correspond with the raid being very low or with especially punishing mechanics is key to its effectiveness.

    Fourth, regarding the tooltip, Tranquility just does what it says in raid. In raid, it is 100% effective. In 5-man groups, it does 100% more than that (200% overall).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

