A post on the World of Warcraft

Kara, We Hardly Knew Ye

“I don’t consider myself a pessimist. I think of a pessimist as someone who is waiting for it to rain. And I feel soaked to the skin.”
Leonard Cohen


Kara, We Hardly Knew Ye

Kara, a big honking 9 boss mythic dungeon, was described as an experience that you might do with friends divided over two nights. We heard that in a Dev Chat. And they lied. Lied. Kara is a speed run or you won’t see the final boss.

So, what is it? And, I ask you, why would I let myself get involved in that kind of experience? Either the intention was for us to have a nostalgic and also a marvelicious lore-laden experience with unique boss mechanics or it was meant to be a power-driven exciting (stressful) run with no time to stand in awe. Or it was meant to be ran over and over and over again until we are sick of it. So, what is it, Blizzard?


Since I only play WoW, I don’t think Blizzcon will have anything for me to watch for this year.


Z is for Zeirah was a guest on the Battletagged podcast discussing online personalities. I enjoyed it a lot and laughed along with them. They also talked about the Running of the Gnomes charity event which they participated in, 7.1 patch notes and a lot more. Settle in to some Starlight Rose farming and give it a listen.


I completed Battle on the Broken Isles which was a solid goal of mine! Now to do it all over again with a Dragon team, Aquatic team, Beast team — oh, dear Elune!


Having my old level 100 Alts around is great for multiple runs for Raiding with Leashes. Putting those old dusty Alts to use feels pretty good though (I’m embarrassed to say) I don’t know my way around ICC hardly at all. I’ll need to get a friend to give me a tour to learn the true path.
Still, I have six of sixteen right now — so I’m on my way!


I wrote a long post last night while watching football. Windows 10 updated over-night and I lost my post. Don’t you hate that?


Kamalia asks the question has Legion effectively broken my Altholism? This is a response to a post by Bio Break and helps me see the player perspective.

And, then I wonder, do I really love my Main? Because, I want to do it all! I want more than Altism, I want a freaking Alt Factory serving my needs and roles and fulfillment.

The crux is: I love my Druid Healer — but I don’t love my Druid-as-Balance or Kitty or Bear. But … I HAVE to DPS, quest, fight, crawl and cry my way through this content to be a part of the game.

Taking it to another step — this I wonder. If you have a small game with little content then you make that content hard and challenging. If you have a huge game riding on top of many expansions with a freight train full of content then that content should not be crazy hard. But, the path to professions or gearing or mythic plus IS hard and time consuming and, frankly, frustrating.

Maybe it is time for a “catch up” patch with a flood of gear to make the content a little more trivial to complete or dial down the phasing or spread out the mobs. Or put Starlight Rose nodes every three feet so picking them is a joy for twenty minutes to get what you want and then you can move on.

One doesn’t want to get to the point of choosing IF I want to play at all.

4 thoughts on “Kara, We Hardly Knew Ye

  1. Oh wow.. I could have written that bit about how you feel about druids word for word. I did write a really long comment about my feeling but I think I’ll turn it into a post rather than write a novel here 🙂

    Kara is beautiful but after 5hrs in there on the first day we took a break at the last boss for raid only to find out lock was reset. Given the sheer size I honestly don’t know how that will be a doable dgn for random groups.

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the show. It was lovely doing it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it was a fun show; thank you for the good work.
      Five hours in Kara is a pretty long time, even with good friends. I know I’ll be doing it but … I have not really started yet, that is a high hill to climb.

      Like

  2. ty for talking about Kara. Knowing that now? I will put it off until they either make some adjustments, or I overgear it to a point I don’t need anything from it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

