A post on the World of Warcraft

Choosing Your Role in WoW

Oscar Madison: I can’t take it anymore, Felix, I’m cracking up. Everything you do irritates me. And when you’re not here, the things I know you’re gonna do when you come in irritate me. You leave me little notes on my pillow. Told you 158 times I can’t stand little notes on my pillow. “We’re all out of cornflakes. F.U.” Took me three hours to figure out F.U. was Felix Ungar!


Choosing Your Role in WoW

Specifically there are three: Tank, Healer, Damage Dealer.

When Neil Simon wrote The Odd Couple, he wrote it with Walter Matthau in mind. Neil Simon had a theater named after him on Broadway. Neil Simon had a Pulitzer Prize. Neil Simon had a truck-load of Tony Awards. When Neil Simon writes a part for you; you take it.

Walter Matthau’s part was Oscar Madison; a cigar-smoking sportswriter and a slob. The other character was Felix Ungar, an uptight fastidious neurotic.

Walter begged Neil to let him play Felix. We all know that Walter agreed to play Oscar but the motive is interesting. Walter knew he could play the slob and be great in the role; funny, poignant, tragic. He wanted the challenge because he was a great actor. Personally, I’d have loved to have seen Walter Matthau play Felix.

Choosing your role in WoW, almost everyone says to play to type. If you are bold and brash then be a Tank. But think for a moment. How interesting would it be it to see that bold strength poured into a Healer? Much more so, I do believe. More interesting to everyone.

When Cinderella is staged (movie, play, ballet, children’s play) many dream of the lead role; she’s the star. Still, the plum roles are the step-sisters — over the top, looney, evil or funny: this is the fun role to play.

In the Nutcracker, everyone wants to see the Snow Queen. Beautiful. Everyone remembers Mother Ginger, hilarious with little kids tumbling out from under her dress.*

Choosing your role is important. Playing to type is the easy route and could be the best choice. Still; think about what can make the game more interesting to you and to your friends.

We make note of the 60 year old granny tanking in mythics and leading a raid. No one remembers that grouchy 24 year old tank who drinks a bit and swears at everyone.

Be a player. Have some fun. Find a plum role.



*Mother Ginger is traditionally played by a man. It is funny. Disney is going to make a Nutcracker and is talking to the great actress Helen Mirren.
C’mon, how about Alec Baldwin or Chris Pratt?



One thought on “Choosing Your Role in WoW

  1. I actually came to the healing role after a 6-year misstep as an unwanted DPS class in a game where re-rolling was too grueling to consider. After that, I vowed “never again!” and have never been happier than when I’m healing. (I admit that it was probably annoying to my partner that I stayed specced Restoration all the way to 60.)

    How did you know about the 60-year old granny that leads all of our raids??? She’s a treat, and I feel so lucky to have found her. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

