A post on the World of Warcraft

Heroic Nighthold: First Look

“Thank you to the Academy. You know, there’s one place that all the people with the greatest potential are gathered. One place and that’s the graveyard. People ask me all the time, what kind of stories do you want to tell, Viola? And I say, exhume those bodies. Exhume those stories. The stories of the people who dreamed big and never saw those dreams to fruition. People who fell in love and lost. I became an artist—and thank God I did—because we are the only profession that celebrates what it means to live a life.”
Viola Davis


Heroic Nighthold: First Look

After clearing Normal on our first night of raiding, we had no choice! It was a good feeling to be facing the Heroic versions of the fights even though we are not fully geared from Normals. I have my four piece, for example, but I don’t think everyone does.

In a nutshell, my first impression is as you’d expect. The fights are longer, the boss hits harder and everyone needs more healing. Sounds right, right?

The first boss was a one-shot. I could tell by my lack of mana at the end that the fight was longer. No one was dead at the end but I think we were all panting a little at the new level of demand on us.

The second boss has some tricks, extra orbs and extra stuff falling from the sky. Easily avoided but a surprise. We one-shot this boss too!

Trillax took many attempts. I’d guess six to eight tries. The first time he changed direction in Annihilate it wiped half the raid! Sneaky designers. We had to learn the Cake Mechanics, that was the big deal. With pauses between pulls as our Raid Leader looked up specific stuff while we chatted and gossiped and danced.

Trillax dropped a 910 titan-forged cloak for me, tier essential. My ilevel is 894, I don’t know if this is average for starting Heroics or not.


2/3/12
When we were in WoD, especially at the starting stages of a raid, we learned that there were very specific comps. 2/3/7 and 2/4/9 was something you’d rarely deviate from. In fact, in the forums they implied that it was only logical.

During the Trillax fight, I began to wonder if we needed another healer. We were at 2/3/12! This is way off the WoD comp set. But, as it turns out, we just needed to learn the fight – I am sure that next time, we’ll down him easily until it is “farm”.


We only got four pulls in on the Spellblade. The new wrinkle was a freezing dome that threw us all off; where does it come from, what does it do? We barely got to the fire phase.

My guess is that we’ll run Normal next week to get the fourth kill on Elisande and earn the portal. I expect that we’ll run it all in one night again and the face the Heroic version on the second night.



In all, the Heroic version feels like a nice challenge with some welcome surprises. I expect the learning curve to be less pronounced now than when it was learned on Normal.

On the other hand, clearly, we could simply power our way through encounters on Normal and not suffer much on the mechanics. This won’t be true on Heroic. But, as we gear up, it will settle back into routine raiding.

Nighthold gets my stamp of approval. I don’t dread any one boss and look forward to testing my skills in each different challenge.

4 thoughts on “Heroic Nighthold: First Look

  1. The raiders in my guild are currently 6/10 Heroic, and last night they were hitting a wall on High Botanist. The fights from what I have heard seem to be ramping up as you get further in, presumably to keep you going back to farm up for better gear I guess. A casualty of raiding was my wife. She has been a part of the raid team since the Cata days. The raid team has changed many hands over the years, but she has always been a part. They currently have more healers than they feel they need, so she was given a choice, DPS or sit out. She has tried to DPS on her Shaman, but all of the gear she has, especially the Legendary’s are for Healing, and her Artifact weapon has not gotten near level 34 yet. She does not enjoy DPS, she prefers to heal, so last night, she told them she couldn’t do it any more. And I have to agree with her, that it was unfair to drop her into Heroic Nighthold with no experience as a DPS, or gear to do it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That feels totally wrong and I’m sure she is very upset. Why didn’t the raid leader pug in a bunch of dps to balance it out? There must have been some dissent within the raid, I’ll bet that the night she was not there that it was very quiet.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They had too many healers, and too many Shaman healers on top of that. Others were better geared because they have more time to play so have been running Mythic+. She had the option to go DPS.

        In the end it’s trying to keep the majority happy. One thing that many of them don’t realize is she is the only reason I not only still play, but put up with running the guild. If she tells me she is done, then I will quietly pass the lead to someone and close my account.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. @Marathal – would finding a new guild that would welcome the two of you not be an option? Sorry that you faced that trouble, even with FLEX raiding managing a roster can be rough.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

