A post on the World of Warcraft

My Fishing Blues

“Betcha goin’ fishin’ all of your time, baby’s goin’ fishing too
Bet your life, your sweet life, catch more fish than you”

Fishin’ Blues – Taj Mahal


The Fishing Blues

Got up this morning
Needed fish in my bag
So I walked on water
All I saw was lag!

I got them blues
Them Stormray Blues
I got them blues
Baby, I’ve played my dues.

A few days ago, I found that I needed some fish to make even more stacks of Lavish Suramar Feast. This was a surprise because with the Harvester shoulder enchant on all of my characters in Legion, I have not needed to fish in a long time.

The irony of owning the Underlight Angler fishing pole is that once you have filled up your traits you rarely need to fish anymore.

angler

I’m not complaining loudly, this is a very fun fishing pole. With it equipped, you can walk on water and fish up Blood of Sargeras. You can go underwater and become a pretty fast fish yourself and zip about.

And, you can put points in the different types of fish. This will give you and then increase your chance to fish up the whole school. This is incredibly satisfying when your goal might be hundreds of fish. Even more satisfying when someone tries to ninja your pool and you take the whole thing.

When you first get the pole, you’ll see that the lures for rare fish now fish up Artifact Power for your pole. At first it is super zoomy, in the first hour you will have filled out to the extreme tips which give you the bonus stuff, like water walking. You want this!

As you can see on the image, there are two main branches. You have to make a choice which fish to put points in as you need three to move forward. Don’t make the mistake that I did and not care. I felt that the pole was filling up so fast that I’d have everything quickly and that is not true.

Soon enough getting one more trait was in slow motion and a task and chore. And not necessary, there is no need to complete this Artifact fishing pole (unless they get fancy in 7.3!).

The design is clever. The two fishing traits on their own little island are Barracuda and Koi, which will probably be the fish you need to fish the most for your cooking needs.

My advice is that when you get your new Underlight Angler Artifact Fishing Pole is to stop your momentum and look at your cooking recipes. Get to the two extreme branches for the Water Walking etc. and then focus the points on the fish you will be actually fishing to make your buff foods. For me, I don’t think I ever use Mossgill Perch and you can see I have one point in that fish. I need Koi a lot and wish for even a third point in that trait.

I got them blues
Them Stormray Blues
I got them blues
Baby, I’ve played my dues.

8 thoughts on “My Fishing Blues

  1. A week or so ago, Kamalia was fishing in Highmountain because my Monk needed 100 salmon for her Order Hall campaign. A Human Paladin with the Underlight Angler was also fishing in the zone at the same time; we spent a lot of time leapfrogging pools. I wondered how she was managing to scoop up a whole pool in one cast! (I don’t have the Underlight Angler yet.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so excited to start this achievement. I started a while ago only to realise it was stupid not to get flying first SO I have about a week left on that then…. ARTIFACT BABY!

    Great tips for a beginner though, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh, now I understand. I had no idea about the details on it.
    Not looked into it yet, but I have managed to finish that Bigger Fish achievement, as far as I understand, that is the start or something, right?

    Thank you for clarifying and for the tips, i’ll put those to good use sometime 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

